Around Columbia Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


South Carolina Confederate Relic Room & Military Museum


address  301 Gervais St.
 Columbia, SC  29201
phone (803) 737-8095
hours Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; First Sun. 1-5 pm
general adm $5; $4 seniors and active military; $2 youths 13-17; free for children 12 and under
www.crr.sc.gov

Xanthus Smith and Civil War Maritime Art

Xanthus Smith and Civil War Maritime Art

Museum, History/Science
The Civil War redefined the nation on multiple levels, including forever changing American art. Instead of the early 19th century scenes of untouched natural beauty, artists began recording the new technologies and realities of warfare. Xanthus Smith was a Philadelphia-based landscape artist of growing reputation when he enlisted in the Union Navy. Stationed in Port Royal, South Carolina, he used his talents to produce dozens of drawings and paintings of the ships that were a part of the Atlantic fleet. Of equal importance, however, are his sketches of camp life amidst the natural setting of the South Carolina coast.
Event Info: (803) 737-8095
Price: Included in admission
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 7/27/17 - Sat 7/29/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/1/17 - Sat 8/5/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/8/17 - Sat 8/12/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/15/17 - Sat 8/19/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/22/17 - Sat 8/26/17 at 10am-5pm