Around Columbia Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


South Carolina State Museum


address  301 Gervais St.
 Columbia, SC  29202
phone (803) 898-4921
hours Sun. 1-5 pm, Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Memorial Day-Labor Day: Sun. 1-5 pm, Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm
general adm $5; $4 seniors 62 and over; $3 children 3-12; free for children 2 and under
www.southcarolinastatemuseum.org

Beyond Bollywood: Indian Americans Shape the Nation

Beyond Bollywood: Indian Americans Shape the Nation

Museum
From the builders of some of America’s earliest railroads and farms to Civil Rights pioneers to digital technology entrepreneurs, Indian Americans have long been an inextricable part of American life. Beyond Bollywood: Indian Americans Shape the Nation explores the Indian American experience and the community’s vital political, professional, and cultural contributions to American life and history. The exhibition moves past pop-culture stereotypes of Indian Americans to explore the heritage, daily experience, and diverse contributions of Indian immigrants and their descendants in the United States. Weaving together stories of individual achievement and collective struggle, Beyond Bollywood uses photography, narrative, multimedia, and interactive stations to tell a uniquely American story, while conveying the texture, vibrancy, and vitality of Indian American communities.
Information: 803-898-4921
Price: Included in admission
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Fri 5/26/17 - Sat 5/27/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/28/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 5/30/17 - Sat 6/3/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/4/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 6/6/17 - Sat 6/10/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/11/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 6/13/17 - Sat 6/17/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/18/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 6/20/17 - Sat 6/24/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/25/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 6/27/17 - Sat 7/1/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/2/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/4/17 - Sat 7/8/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/9/17 at 1pm-5pm